Ulster Superbike Championship Press Release

We are pleased to announce that AJ Plumbing Supplies have agreed to continue as our Title Sponsor in 2019.

A much-welcomed boost for the series competitors with an end of season prize fund. 2018 seen the championship winners and runners up have a share of the prize fund of over £30.000, plus prize money during the season in excess of another £20.000 AJ Plumbing Supplies have several outlets in Northern Ireland, Ballynahinch, Newry and Banbridge and we would ask the competitors and spectators to support the businesses that supports our sport. Metzeler Tyres once again have provided a package of product prizes for the Superbike, Supersport, Supertwin and Pre Injection classes, a total award tyres package worth of £12k. Associate sponsors also return, Chimney Corner Hotel under Loughview Leisure Group Ltd, Rea Timber Craft – Crumlin, Signstik – Dundrod and we welcome Magic Bullet Fuel Treatments onboard, who will provide awards for the Junior Cup/SS300 and Young Guns at each event.

Round one of The 2019 USBK Championship was completed at Bishopscourt on the 30th March, it was a great opening event to the 2019 season and promoted by the Temple Club. It was encouraging to see the number of spectators that attended, which was up on last years event, we hope this will continue for the rest of this season. We now look forward to the Easter Weekend when Rounds 2 & 3 take place. The 43rd Enkalon Trophy Races on Easter Saturdays Round 2 at Bishopscourt . 9am practice and the race program from 11am. Current USBK Superbike Champion and 2018 Enkalon Trophy winner Gerard Kinghan will be out to retain the trophy and score some valuable USBK points after an incident in Round 1 left him with zero points. The Superbikes have a stronger field of competitors this year and the racing should be a lot closer. Ali Kirk, Aaron Armstrong, David Haire, Ryan Gibson, Nico Mawhinney, Gary McCoy and current championship leader Carl Phillips all capable of winning, also in contention will be upgraded competitors Barry Graham, Stephen Magill. We welcome back for Easter Scottish visitors Donald McFadyen and Kris Duncan, we hope they enjoy their racing weekend. Supersport class has Mark Conlin, Christian Elkin, Jack Waring, Derek Craig, Darren Keys and Brian McCormack entered. Other classes include SS300, Young Guns, Junior Cup, Pre Injection, Supertwins, Sidecars, Cup, Lightweight Supersport and Moto 3.

The Championship moves across Strangford Lough to Kirkistown for Round 3 on Easter Monday. The King of Kirkistown is the main event. It was First held in 1968, the last running of the race was staged in 2010, when Marshall Neill added his name to an illustrious list of past winners, including Gerry Mateer, Tommy Robb, Abe Alexander, Ray McCullough, Noel Hudson, Ian McGregor, Alan Irwin, George Farlow, Steven Cull and Phillip McCallen. Joey Dunlop was also crowned King of Kirkistown during his unprecedented career and remains the only rider ever to win the feature race three times, taking wins in 1975, 1977 and 1980. All the main contenders from Easter Saturday are entered at Kirkistown and will surely be wanting to get their hands on this Trophy. Practice at 9am and racing from 1pm. Again, all the championship classes are catered for except for Classics.

The ten round USBK Championship has two rounds in April, June and September. One in March, July, August and October. The first time for the Enniskillen Club to host the Final round at St Angelo on the 5th Sunday October

Junior Cup 7 Jamie Lyons 50 30 Ajay Carey 40 37 Jack Ferris 32

Young Guns 34 Braydon Cummings 45 10 Liam Baird 36 21 Nicholas Burns 29

Moto 3 10 Woolsey Coulter 45 69 Gary Scott 36 49 Malcolm Love 29

Lightweight Supersport 119 Kris Duncan 41 81 Damien Horgan 40 94 Gareth Morrell 27

Supertwins 32 Carl Phillips 50 40 Ross Irwin 33 23 Cahal Graham 28

Production Twins 8 Darryl Anderson 41 7 Adam Crooks 40 111 Jonny Aiken 29

Pre-Injection 9 Jonny Irwin 50 70 Derek O’Donnell 40 5 Mervyn Griffin 32

Supersport Pro 38 Jason Lynn 50 22 Paul Jordan 36 8 Christian Elkin 33

Superbike Pro 32 Carl Phillips 50 56 Adam McLean 36 21 Aaron Armstrong 29

Supersport Cup (Yellow plates) 98 Jonny Singleton 50 57 Michael Owens 36 81 Damien Horgan 27

Supersport 300 22 Cameron Dawson 50 51 Alex Duncan 40 2 Rhys Coates 29

Superbike Cup (Yellow plates) 44 Dean Fishbourne 45 5 Thomas Maxwell 45 83 Andy McAllister 29

Sidecar s First round Easter Saturday
250 Classic 87 Brian Mateer 50 6 Kylle Parkes 36 35 Gavin Duffy 20

350 Classic 14 Nigel Moore 41 56 Alex Conroy 41 46 Mark Johnston 33

500 Classic 60 Lewis McClements 25

1000 Classic 76 Philip Shaw 50 63 Ian Thompson 40


Related posts